Springfield lathe video

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Springfield lathe video

Some of you may recall a '42 Springfield 16" lathe I've been working on for entirely too many years.

Here's what it looked like in August of 2013 when I dragged it home...

And here's what it looked like in January:

I have since put several hours of use on it, and it's proven smooth, powerful, reliable and accurate. And yesterday, I had a couple chunks of heavy-wall pipe to bore out, and since I had the camera and tripod out already, I put together a quick video:

Not bad for a machine built almost eighty years ago, which was probably scrapped at least once, was used by several ham-handed operators over the years (I know several of them, none are particularly sharp) and then left out in the Alaska weather for at least five years, if not ten.

With a freshly-ground bed and newly-Mogliced carriage, she's ready for another eighty years.

Doc.
    Doc's Machine. (Probably not what you expect.)

Looks a bit on the light side.Damn fine job. What kind of bearings did they use eighty years ago.

Comment

Finally got something for the little stuff, huh?

Comment

That is an amazing transformation. Great job.

How to become a millionaire: Start out with 10 million and take up machining as a hobby!

Comment

Those power feed clutch handles look a lot like the Dean Smith and Grace design.

-D
          DZER

Comment

Looks great Doc, I hope you get many more years of happy service from it.

Comment

Isnt it just wonderful to resurrect something like this. It could have been recycled and landed up in some chinese brake discs but lives to work another fifty years. It must give great pleasure to switch this machine on. Its actually amazing how little manual lathes have changed over the last fifty years. This is so much superior to any new chinese machine of similer dimensions. You are spoilt for old iron in the States etc.

Comment

Who centers work like that!?

Great job!