Drawing software??

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Drawing software??

Folks - My projects have progressed to several pieces of ruled paper. I think I'm ready for a simple drawing package. I'am looking for recommendations, advice, links etc. I don't think I need a true CAD package, but, maybe, capable enough to to dimension lines, scaling?

Have a faily decent PC, with MicroSlave OS

Prefer - free, cheap, moderate in cost, in that order.

Mike

There are several good and fairly easy to learn programs. Each will have a learning curve, but DeltaCAD has been recommended by many people and I have been using Auto Sketch by Auto Desk for about 8 years and find it fairly easy to use. The more advanced features of course take more time to learn, but the basic drawing is very easy. Costs about $100, but you might be able to find it on ebay. Auto Desk also has a new product called Quick CAD I think that is about $50, has the basic features, windows based menu makes learning quick.

The best thing will probably be to look for a free demo and try it out and see which one feels better to you.

Mike

Comment

Check back in the archive -- this has been kicked around before.

There is a fairly old "for free" version of Intellicad available on the Internet that you can download. There are also newer "test drive" versions of it as well. The user interface looks a LOT like AutoCAD, which is neither praise nor condemndation; it just does.
      ----------
      Try to make a living, not a killing. -- Utah Phillips
      Don't believe everything you know. -- Bumper sticker
      Everybody is ignorant, only on different subjects. -- Will Rogers
      There are lots of people who mistake their imagination for their memory. - Josh Billings
      Law of Logical Argument - Anything is possible if you don't know what you are talking about.
      Don't own anything you have to feed or paint. - Hood River Blackie

Comment