Aluminum on steel and galling

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Aluminum on steel and galling

I've tought that aluminum on steel is a bad idea.It's what learned. But I have now noticed that there is so much of this in all sorts of machinery around us. Take a common 9mm Handgun, most modern guns have an aluminum frame and a steel slide. They don't bind or gall do they!? I have very little experience with aluminum alloys, and I would like to hear from you who can tell me about this. I'm designing a new air rifle and would like to use aluminum for the cylinder. The pistom will be steel of course...

Galling occurs when two similar metals are in contact in a high pressure situation.
    The best bearings are dissimilar metals, ie. brass with steel or iron. Aluminum and steel are also a good combination for non galling bearings.
    Think aluminum piston in iron engine block.
    Jim H.

Comment

I don't mean to nitpick, but....

I don't believe dissimilar metals make good bearings in most applications. Sleeve bearings are an exception, but that's because of economics. Steel to steel, when lubrication has very very low friction (granted steel to steel has higher friction if unlubricated than say steel and bronze unlubricated). Think about what ball bearings are made of, all steel.

Aluminium is used as piston in an engine, not because of low friction, but because it's weight factor. In fact, the piston doesn't even touch the cylinder when it's working properly. It's the piston ring (hardened steel) that touches the cast iron block.

Albert

Comment