Rookie Mistakes

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Rookie Mistakes

You Folks are going to love this one. I've had a 12X36 gear head lathe which I have used regularly for about 3 years. Used to wonder why the longitudinal feed would seem to be OK some times & crappy other times. Figured those two levers for threading only worked when you're THREADING! Not so. You may freely laugh as even though I am self taught I certainly had a chuckle when I figured out what was going on.
    Second point I wish to share is that of using double backed carpet tape to hold plates to the Mill table. It WORKS very well - only problem is Frank Mclean (God Bless him I love his books & wish I'd had the chance to have met him) neglected to mention it is somewhat stubborn to remove! Safety tip of the day - YOU DON'T NEED TWO 2" STRIPS TO HOLD DOWN A 3" WIDE PIECE PIECE OF 1/4" ALUMINUM PLATE! In fairness to myself I had a problem with the whole "Tape" idea in the first place. Just thought other less experienced folk would like the heads up.

Oh...you mean, Rookie Mistapes.

Comment

We've used alcohol to remove tapes. Rubbing alcohol works. Leave some room between pieces of tape for the alcohol to get into.

Soak the tape for a few minutes, then use a putty knife or similar to pry it up.

------------------
      Mike L
      Amateur machinist, self-taught. I had a poor teacher, but I was a good student.
      Mike L
      Amateur machinist, self-taught. I had a poor teacher, but I was a good student.

Comment

Use a piece of good tape to pull up the old tape. It works.

Kevin
        If it's not good enough for you, it's sure not good enough for anyone else.

Comment

There is a product on the market called "Goo Gone" that removes just about any kind of stickum left over from decals, price tags, etc. I think it is petroleum based. It has a nice orange fragrance, too. Usual disclaimers.