Slightly OT Cleaning cermaic motar/pestle

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Slightly OT Cleaning cermaic motar/pestle

Anybody with a chem lab type background? I purchased a couple of boxes of art room class supplies was supposed to be enameling powder and glass threads and lumps. Included was a number or mortars/ and pestles with stains and curd in the bottoms of each. a couple cleaned up good with a cleaner and water. Have one with wax melted in the bowl. Scraped most of the junk and chunks out. Do you have any ideas or tips on removing the stains. Will be trying the small air brush blaster I have on the wax one. I had not realized that they cost $55.00 for the mortar 4.5" dia and $29.40 for the pestle. Till I was placing an order on the enamel company web site and came across them for sale.
    Last edited by PTSideshow; 07-24-2006, 04:23 PM.
    Glen
    Been there, probably broke it, doing that!
    I am not a lawyer, and never played one on TV!
    All the usual and standard disclaimers apply. Do not try this at home, use only as directed, No warranties express or implied, for the intended use or the suggested uses, Wear safety glasses, closed course, professionals only

Put the wax coated one in the oven on the self clean cycle. Open a window.
    Free software for calculating bolt circles and similar: Click Here

Comment

Have burned the mortar out in a gas grill with the cover down, Don't thing I want to try that with the other halfs stove even if she nevers uses it. With my luck it would get down into someplace that it would smell everytime the stove was turned on LOL
      Glen
      All the usual and standard disclaimers apply. Do not try this at home, use only as directed, No warranties express or implied, for the intended use or the suggested uses, Wear safety glasses, closed course, professionals only

Comment