Introducing myself

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Introducing myself

First post. I'm mostly a boat guy with a woodshop. I just bought this Logan 1820 10" lathe, and I'll be climbing the learning curve.

It's been 30 years since I worked as a machine operator, hired by a one man shop in frozen Colorado to mill and turn parts for irrigation systems- ya know, those alien crop circles ya see from airplanes in the high desert.

This machine will keep all the other old ahrn running, is my hope. I think I got more collets than I'll ever use!

Here's the lathe:

Serial No. 71468 (found on the ways) - Anyone know how to date these?

I'll need a manual to disassamble and tune it up, and some suggestions on the best place to buy supplies and parts.

Cheers, Hugh
    Last edited by hughman; 08-17-2006, 11:06 PM.

Hugh, welcome to the group. Logan serial numbers can be found at Logan's generously maintained site: http://www.lathe.com/ser-no.htm Den

Comment

Thanks!

Comment

Welcome. As the new member, you are now required to send us all your tools and start over.

Just kidding, good stuff in here, enjoy.

rock-
        Civil engineers build targets, Mechanical engineers build weapons.

Comment

having a lathe will make it easier to get off that dirty old dusty woodworking habit welcome to the forum
          in Toronto Ontario - where are you?

Comment

Be forewarned !

Both metal working and these forums may become addictive.

Welcome

Comment

Step on in and make youself at home Hugh.You will find lots of good types here.
              Ken.

Comment

Welcome to the board!

I use my metal working tools to modify my wood working tools to make jigs and fixtures for welding to fix my metal projects that I screw up. So basically I do nothing. repeatedly, but it is fun.
                Today I will gladly share my experience and advice, for there no sweeter words than "I told you so."

Comment

Welcome Hugh....Welcome, JRouche