Home Shop Smell

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Home Shop Smell

I'm a first timer for this forum, but didn't seem to have any luck finding much information in regards to this topic using the search.

Basically my concern is the smell of cut metal and such bothering my room mates. I'm a machinist by day but have been thinking putting some small machines in my basement. I barely notice any of the smells (I see the clouds of smoke from cutting oils before I smell them) but all my friends girlfriends mention how I 'smell like metal' so I'm concerned. I'd like some experiences from you guys on how much smell and stink comes from a home machine shop. I plan on using indexable carbide tooling, so I don't think I'll often bother with cutting oils and I'll pass on coolant all together. I'd primarily work with low and mid alloy steels, mabye the occational stainless if that makes any differance.

Also other than the idea of sucking the air/fumes out while working is there anything that could make it better?

Thanks for any information,
    Pat

I can't help you much on this question. My wife thinks WD-40 is the cologne I wear. Another approach is to cook in the shop. This summer it got so hot that one day we cooked a chicken in the slow cooker in my garage shop. The shop smelled great!
    Free software for calculating bolt circles and similar: Click Here

Comment

If I was in that situation I think I would use some kind of exhaust fan setup and maybe some of those battery powered air freshener dispensers around entrances to other parts of the house, to keep the smells in the workshop. Personally I quite like the machine shop odours but I don't like the smell that gets in my hair from MIG welding and takes several washes to get rid of.
      Will

Comment

Home Shop Smell

None of the filthy noxious compounds!

Put lard oil on your chips.

Yum, yum

Norm

Comment

Now Norm that's what I CALL CHIPSAlistair