plane irons

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• plane irons

Hello, I am an avid woodworker and toolmaker (in wood). I am interested in making my own specialty hand planer and molder irons and know probably just enough to get myself in trouble about hardening high carbon and A2 steel. Can any of you suggest any books or sites of reference on this subject? I am also wanting to start making many of my plane bodies and soles from steel and bronze but don't really know where to start looking for info on retooling, etc. Every response is appreciated. Completely new to metalworking. Thanks!

There have been numerous massive books written on the subject of heat treating steel. It can be incredibly involved. A good introduction though, might be the Argus Workshop Practice book, "Hardening and Tempering Engineer's Tools," if you can find it. It's a home-shop-scale overview of the basics.
    ----------
    Try to make a living, not a killing. -- Utah Phillips
    Don't believe everything you know. -- Bumper sticker
    Everybody is ignorant, only on different subjects. -- Will Rogers
    There are lots of people who mistake their imagination for their memory. - Josh Billings
    Law of Logical Argument - Anything is possible if you don't know what you are talking about.
    Don't own anything you have to feed or paint. - Hood River Blackie

Comment

Yer,introuble now mate.You realise that you are goin gto build a whole new shop and fill it up with metal working stuff.

So how many planes are you going to make?half a dozen for your self or are you going to build them to sell.

if you are going to build the for your self only, and if I am correct in surmising that you want to build a steel soled brass sided plane with wooden in fill,and the "double" dovetail (for lack of a better descriptionor knowledge by myself of the correct terminology), i would suggest that you could go ahead and build a plane using simple hand tools as they were originly.