No announcement yet.

Most Powerful Steam Engine Ever Built?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Most Powerful Steam Engine Ever Built?

I'm a newbie to the forum, so this may be common knowledge. What do you think is the most powerful steam engine ever built?

The base load coal plants are probably getting close to a million HP.

Comment

Powerful Steam Engines....

Hey Shaidorsi;
      What do you mean by "steam engines" ? Just reciprocating engines, or do you include turbines ? Do you mean locomotives, or marine engines or stationary engines. A few marine plants are over 10,000 HP. Steam would almost certainly be a turbine plant, probably multi-unit too.
      If you mean any type of steam power, Forrest Addey is right. Electric power plants are pretty much the most powerful steam plants around. Near Vancouver, there is the Burrard Thermal Plant. 5 units at 150 megawatts & 1 unit at 175 megawatts. Combustion Engineering boilers, (1100 psig steam at some 1050 deg. F. two stages of reheat.) English Electric alternators & excitation. I can't remember who built the turbines... (Convert that to HP based on 746 watts/HP...) This is a small natural gas fired plant....Some coal burning plants I've worked at, eg. Sundance & Genesee in Alberta are bigger, as are nuke plants like Bruce, Pickering & Pt. LePreau (NB Power, New Brunswick; the only Candu plant I've ever worked on.) A Candu reactor is just a furnace that "burns" neutrons....the problem is the radiation & the radioactive waste .
      Just my view...
      Rick

Comment

Biggest coal-fired station in the UK is Drax at 4000MW, from 6 turbine sets.

That's nearly 900 000 hp per set.

http://www.power-technology.com/projects/drax/

ISTR UK companies have supplied bigger sets to China.

Tim

Comment

Timleech...regarding power plants in the UK...

Tim;