Milling question

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Milling question

I have a 9x20 lathe and am making some t bolts for the cross slide using a mini mill. I am pretty brand new to using a milling machine. My question is how do I accurately mark out the steel so that I can mill it to size to go into the t slots on the compound? Is it best to use digital calipers and just keep taking of very small amounts of steel and measuring on each pass or is it best to mark it out ?

It depends on the accuracy of your mill, which you need to get a feel for. When I first get a new machine, I mark it out, and then I check things constantly. I keep a little notepad around in the shop where I'm noting that stuff. Work goes slowly, but I know if I turn the wheel how much the resulting cut is and how reliably I can make that machine produce. Eventually, I get comfortable with just turning the wheels and perhaps checking just before the finish cut.

The other thing to keep in mind is this particular application doesn't have to be real precise. The T-Nuts need to be small enough to fit the slots comfortably, and no smaller.

I'd still recommend marking out and taking some frequent measurements so you can get the measure (pardon my pun!) of the machine.

Best,

BW
    ---------------------------------------------------

http://www.cnccookbook.com/index.htm
    Try G-Wizard Machinist's Calculator for free:
    http://www.cnccookbook.com/CCGWizard.html

Comment

Not knowing your setup this may not all work for you, but I'll give it a try.