MACHINING TITANIUM

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• MACHINING TITANIUM

As it is much easier to lighten my motorcycle than it is to lose weight I have decide to make titanium axles,nuts, swingarm shaft and various other odds and ends, all basically simple turning jobs. What can I expect when turning titanium, I have never worked with it before. I have not looked in machinery's handbook yet because I have the world's greatest R&D department right here (you guys)which also falls into line with the old fat guy thing, I would have to walk upstairs to get the book.
    Non, je ne regrette rien.

Use a slow feed and speed. Use lots of lube. When drilling, reaming, and tapping, it will grab the tools. I've seen a lot of drills and reamers snapped off in the piece because there was not enough lube and they were horsing it thru. Take your time and you'll be fine.

Kevin
    If it's not good enough for you, it's sure not good enough for anyone else.

Comment

Razor sharp tools with a slow speed and a heavy feed lots-o-lube also I have found that reamers work best if they are the lefthand spiral righthand cut variety.
      I just need one more tool,just one!

Comment

Chip control is very important, the stuff will burn. Use sand not water to extinquish the flames.

------------------
        Neil Peters
        Neil Peters

When on the hunt, a broken part is better than no part at all.

Comment

In my experience, drown the cut in coolant or cutting oil and it will machine fairly easily.

Comment

Chief,

I've been machining this stuff for some years now and can only wholeheartedly agree with what has been said here. Just don't *****foot with the stuff - you have to get under the 'skin' and keep the tool cutting, once it rubs you have to break down and resharpen the tool.

I use a lot of T614 (90%Ti, 6%Al, 4%Vanadium), this is a good alround alloy. Other good stuff to use is T330, T315, and if you can get it T506.