I need some advice

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• I need some advice

The past few years I've been giving semi-retirement a try, but of late I notice I've been getting a bit bored, and am looking around for something to do to fill in the time. Plus, I have to admit, the retirement fund isn't quite up to where it should be, so I'm thinking it's probably a good idea to add to it while I'm still able. I enjoy spending time in my shop, so I got to thinking, what the heck: why not kill a couple of birds with one stone and see if I can generate a little revenue doing some work for local firms?

I have a pretty well-equipped shop in my basement, and I have about 30 years experience as a machinist and mechanical designer, so I feel pretty confident that I can handle any jobs that are within the capacity of my equipment. My equipment is all manual, and is a bit small by professional standards, but I can get a bigger lathe or mill if I need it. I live in CT, so there are many sources of used machinery around.

What I'm wondering is, what kind of work should I look for? I don't have much experience doing production machining, and that's fine with me. The thought of making hundreds of the the same part really doesn't turn me on. A dozen or so is OK, but that's about it. Besides, I doubt I could compete with the CNC guys. With my experience making prototypes is an obvious possibility. Also maintenance machining. Can anyone suggest any other possibilities?

One other question, related to the above. What's the best way to approach a company for work? Call on the phone or knock on doors? And who do you talk to? I've designed a business card, and I'm making up a facilities list, as I know I'll need one. I thought about a flier or brochure that I could mail out, but those require pictures, and I have very few. Who takes pictures?