Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

home based machine shop business ( Long )

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• home based machine shop business ( Long )

Hey guys, I am from sunny California, I am new to the forum and I have a few questions for a home based machine shop. I am fairly new to machining, I am a two year apprentice. Well the shop I used to work in closed a few years back. The owner ended up selling the equipment to me and comes by once and awhile to teach me. I now have an 8x36 knee mill and a 13x40 lathe to get me started. I do deal with some customers from the old shop that I used to work at. I thought to myself, if they really want me to continue to do work for them, why not get a business license to help start a foundation for my home based machine shop. So I went down to the city hall to find out if I am able to obtain a business license to start a small machine hobby shop. I was told that I will not be able to obtain a business license for a home based small machine hobby shop because of the “loud noise, and excessive vibration” I would produce. During the time I have used the machines at home, I have not ever received one complaint nor caused excessive noise or vibrations that would cause a nuisance to my friendly neighbors. Now for my questions. Is there a way to “re-word” this so I do not make them think I have machines? How would one obtain a business license if they have encountered a problem like mine? Any one running a successful home based machine shop from home that is located in California? I would love to know how you are doing it. Can I just make stuff and sell it on ebay without getting in trouble? I've been doing work under the table and its gotten me pretty far. Obviously I do not know much in this area. I am basically worried that if I continue to do work, that I may be liable for a law suit ( lord forbid ). I am open to any comments, suggestions or both. Hope this makes sense. Thanks for the help in adv