Print Reading Help

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Print Reading Help

I am building a stirling engine from a kit and need a little help in deciphering some of the symbols on the print. This page is a cross section of the flywheel.

What does the triangle thing with the 1.6 represent?

Are the boxes with the "A" and the 0.05 and 0.10 tolerances? Why does one box have slashes and the other the upside down T symbol.

As you can tell I'm somewhat new to the hobby and any help would be appreciated.

Also what kind of thread is a M3-7H. I get the 3mm part but what does 7H mean?

Try to answer in order
    1. surface finish its in metric so i`m not familarwith the1.6.

2. // parallel to datum up side down T square to 90؛ perpendicular to datum

3. class of thread 7H
    Hope this helps
    Last edited by lane; 03-22-2007, 09:27 PM.
    Every Mans Work Is A Portrait of Him Self
    http://sites.google.com/site/machinistsite/TWO-BUDDIES
    http://s178.photobucket.com/user/lan...?sort=3&page=1

Comment

Sir John , Earl of Bligeport & Sudspumpwater. MBE [ Motor Bike Engineer ] Nottingham England.

Comment

Thank you for your reply. If I could get some clarification on the tolerances. I'm assuming the upside down T at .05 means that the hole has to be square to the datum by the .05...ie the hole is not crooked. It's not referring to the diameter of the hole itself, correct?

Comment

Thank you John, I searched google for and hour looking for a list of symbols like that.

Comment

Originally posted by Wess
            Thank you for your reply. If I could get some clarification on the tolerances. I'm assuming the upside down T at .05 means that the hole has to be square to the datum by the .05...ie the hole is not crooked. It's not referring to the diameter of the hole itself, correct?
            The hole should be prependicular to the bore within .05mm as I see it.