How’d I do (grinding bits)?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• How’d I do (grinding bits)?

I have been grinding bits for a year now, and I think I’m finally starting to get the hang of it. With that in mind I think it’s time to bite the bullet, see what some of the masters think.

This is a finisher bit I ground for an upcoming stainless project. After shaping it on the 6” grinder I hand honed it with a 325 grit diamond hone.

So what do you think any good?

-Dan S.
    dans-hobbies.com

Looks good to me. Next question is whose tool steel are you using?
    Free software for calculating bolt circles and similar: Click Here

Comment

Dan, what kind of a hone do you use and what is that depression back from the cutting edge on the top?

Comment

Looks good but the real test is how it cuts. If it cuts well, it is a good grind and if it doesn't, then back to the grinding wheel.

Of course, I am not a real expert, just a grinding fool.

Paul A.
        Paul A.
        SE Texas

Make it fit.
        You can't win and there is a penalty for trying!

Comment

The grinding looks good. Plus the honed edge should make a nice cut.

What size is the nose radius? It looks fairly large. Is your lathe rigid enough for the radius?

I assume the circular depression on the top is meant as a chip breaker, right? If so, it may be too far from the cutting edge to be effective.

Comment

In many cases for lightweight home shop machines you can throw out the standard specs for cutting tools. Best results are often obtained with high rake tools in many materials including steel (not brass though). It requires much less horspower and produces much lower cutting forces reducing the possibility of chatter. The edges don't last as long but that isn't a big issue when you grind your own.

Comment

Evan,

Mo-Max M-42 cobalt, so it could be made in America or Mexico.

Mike,