milling annealed tool steel

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• milling annealed tool steel

Let me start out by saying I am a novice when it comes to machining. I am trying to machine a 1/8" wide slot thru annealed carbon tool steel (1095) and L6 which is 1/4" thick using a bridgeport mill. I am using double fluted cobalt end mills. So far all I've done is burn up end mills. Can someone please advise what I'm doing wrong and what cutting speed I should be using, type of end mill (carbide? 2 or 4 flute?) and depth of cut I should be taking with each pass. Any advise will be much appreciated. regards-kc

If you're burning end mills, probably the first thing to do is slow down. I might try about 800 rpm and see how that went. As for depth, maybe 0.050"?

When you're "burying" an end mill in a cut, 2-flute is probably the way to go. A cobalt end mill ought to be up to the job.
    ----------
    Try to make a living, not a killing. -- Utah Phillips
    Don't believe everything you know. -- Bumper sticker
    Everybody is ignorant, only on different subjects. -- Will Rogers
    There are lots of people who mistake their imagination for their memory. - Josh Billings
    Law of Logical Argument - Anything is possible if you don't know what you are talking about.
    Don't own anything you have to feed or paint. - Hood River Blackie

Comment

I wouldnt mess around --- since your alrealy trashing cobalt i would go with carbide, I would also keep in mind that it could still have a case hardening to it, in this case (no pun intended) it is the one area that makes sense to go with a bigger deapth of cut, if you go light with a case hardening and try to "skin" your way through you will dwell the cutter tips on the hardend surface and wont break through, this results in lots of hardend surface area against your bit and low unit pressure, where if you go a little deaper they will break through and be into softer material.

Comment