My Model Beam Engine

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• My Model Beam Engine

I've been a machinist for about 30 years, but I'm just now finding out that it can be an entertaining home hobby. This is my latest project. A Beam Engine built from plans by Elmer Verburg.

It does run. Here's a link to a short video of it running for the first time. http://www.rake60.com/photogallery/Beam_Running.mpeg

I know it's pretty simple compared to other engines I've seen on here, and there's a lot of room for improvement in my work, but I do believe I have myself a new hobby here...

Rick
    Home Model Engine Machinist

Hi Rick

Well that's a nice little engine, thanks for the video, love it when they run, best is at the slow speed I think

Great job, thanks for sharing
    Mogens Kilde
    http://m_kilde.skysite.dk/

Comment

Nice work!

Comment

Nicely done! How hard is it doing this stuff at home when you don't have all the toys you had at work to use?? I would think doing things the hard way for the lack of a particular tool would drive me nuts !
        - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -
        Thank you to our families of soldiers, many of whom have given so much more then the rest of us for the Freedom we enjoy.

It is true, there is nothing free about freedom, don't be so quick to give it away.

Comment

Congratulations. Very nice work indeed.

Here's my version of the same engine...

As a rank amateur, it makes me feel good to know that a professional machinist thinks this engine was a project worthy of his time.