newbie question about fly cutting

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• newbie question about fly cutting

I am a relatively inexperienced machinist and have a few questions about fly cutting.

I am having to make some plates that I'm going to fixture off of and need them to be especially flat, and since I do not have a grinder I assume that fly cutting them is just as good for my purposes.

The way that I'm thinking of making my base plates is first fly cutting the rough laser cut plates to thickness then once they're the right thickness and flat I will mill the edges to the correct profile then drill/ream/tap the appropriate holes.

How do I go about fixturing the plates on the mill table? If I clamp them down I'm worried I will distort them and then once I remove the clamps I will still have "unflat" plates. My second question is do I use any coolant (mist) while I fly cut?

Dave Hyland has a clamping solution here:

http://www.davehylands.com/Machinist...utting-Clamps/

Comment

Whats the material ?
      can make a big difference in warpage.
      I assume it is mild steel since you had it laser cut.
      normally I like to fly cut a finished part to maintain the finish better.
      Can you flip the part during machining to equalise the stress ?
      To mount and support a plate that is warped, etc, , cover your mill table with
      Saran wrap, or Aluminum foil..make sure no holes.. then drop a gob of plaster of paris ( 10 minite set) on the cover, and set your part on it and allign it for clamping. Be sure it fills in all areas under the part and still allows the part to actually touch the table
      partially clamp to "hold" position only "and wait till the plaster is hard ( check the mixing pail ), then finish clamp. this will hold all deformities of the part during the milling operation. ( the plaster will rust your table if it gets to it )
      Rich
      Last edited by Rich Carlstedt; 04-13-2007, 01:34 AM.
      Green Bay, WI

Comment