This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• OT: Virginia Tech Shooting

Moderator feel free to pull this thread!

Just curious to hear your thoughts on this tradgedy. I wonder how it can happen, 33 dead by one person armed with, apparently, two hand guns. I heard a while back about a program designed by a military official in the U.K. and an ex-special forces drill sergant that was supposed to teach students how to react to a gunman. The idea was that we could teach students to fight back instead of hiding in rooms where they are essentially sitting ducks to a gunman.

As a student myself, i would much rather think that my last moment would be one of action rather than cowering in a classroom. I asked my parents and they felt the same way; if i were in a situation where i was faced by a gunman they would rather know that i had at least tried to fight back. With 5 or more students you'd think they could overcome a lone gunman in a classroom. But who knows...i realize there are always compromising circumstances and i can only imagine what its like to face a someone who is pointing a gun at you.

We had all better hope that they don't discover that the perpetrator was heavily armed with "An illegal homemade automatic firearm. A large cache of similar weapons was discovered in the gunman's garage together with all the necessary industrial machinery to make them. As the weapon was not purchased controls on such weapons had no effect. We must question how it is that a person is able to obtain the necessary equipment to make such weapons."
    Free software for calculating bolt circles and similar: Click Here

Comment

Mass murder is like a can of Pringles. Once you pop you can't stop. I know that's tasteless (like Pringles) but that's how a psychologist friend explained it to me.