Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Simple questions about stock removal.

Machinists,

I'm just getting started running a cnc mill. Most of my experience is on a manual lathe. I've got a couple questions that should be easy for anyone who's done this.

First, say you have a 3/4" deep object to mill the outside contour on, I put a piece of 1" stock in the machine and do my milling. Now how do I get the contour off the remaining 1/4" of material?

Second, I need to mill a 2" round piece of stock into a smaller diameter (.75") 1/2" deep on the end. Easily done on a lathe, but how do you write the g-code to start making circles at 2" diam and end up at .75" diameter without writing a code for each circle? Or is that the only way. (This is the opposite of pocket milling)

Thanks in advance,
    Jim

stock removal

If you can securely hold what you just profiled, its not uncommon to flip the workpiece over and mill off the bottom.
    gvasale

Comment

Jim,

Each type machine control has a unique machine code.

Some controls have conversational programing, and some strictly G and M
      function, and some a combination of both.

You need to specify what machine, and control you have.

With that info, I can write you a sample program provided we have a post processor for that control.

You may still have to edit to make it run correctly.

Best way is to get a manual from the manufacterer, or ebay, as a referance and learn to do it your self.

If in business, there are cad-cam programs to assist you. Example Bobcad, or Mastercam. Lots of $$$.

If it is a Bridgeport, I have a couple manuals I can send you.

Kap

Comment

Thanks, guys

Im using Smithy 1034 cnc mill, Mach 3, Gecko drivers and steppers off a PMDX131 B.O.B..

I'm learning g- and m- code and use the conversational often. Although it has pocket milling, it has not profiling like I need to do.

If you have g-code for this type of application, I'd appreciate it.

Regards,
        Jim

Comment