Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• New to board

Greetings all,

time to introduce myself. After lurking around for some time I decided to register, as it started to be a habit hard to break following this board daily and trying to absorb all the information and practical wisdom on machining available here. Even if I spent some 35 plus years in desk jobs at a major engineering company I'm still a complete newbie when it comes to hands-on machining. Now I'm trying to make up the time away from the workshop and learn/relearn manual machining. I'm starting small, with a 7X12 lathe and a mini-mill size mill/drill, certainly not CNC. No bandsaw or even bench grinder are available yet but might have to be, sooner or later.

I'm really excited in being a member of this group of machinists.

G'day Truman, welcome to the incurable metal ward

First item is a bench grinder. How else you gonna grind lathe tools?
    Just got my head together
    now my body's falling apart

Comment

Welcome aboard!

You say you're "starting small." I hope you realize it's just a matter of time before you buy an F-350 pickup to haul home a Bridgeport.....
      ----------
      Try to make a living, not a killing. -- Utah Phillips
      Don't believe everything you know. -- Bumper sticker
      Everybody is ignorant, only on different subjects. -- Will Rogers
      There are lots of people who mistake their imagination for their memory. - Josh Billings
      Law of Logical Argument - Anything is possible if you don't know what you are talking about.
      Don't own anything you have to feed or paint. - Hood River Blackie

Comment

Welcome, Abandon all hope,yee who enter here.

I didn't say it first,but it fits sometimes.

Comment

Welcome to metal and shop illness, the inmates do run the asylum
          Glen
          Been there, probably broke it, doing that!
          I am not a lawyer, and never played one on TV!