Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

how many people on this site are actually machinists for a living?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• how many people on this site are actually machinists for a living?

I'm a 4th year apprentice and work for national oilwell

I made my living as a job shop machinist for about 11 years till I screwed up my back.

Now I just tinker in my shop at home.

Comment

I'm retired. I once worked in all aspects of aircraft metal work for about 4 years after training in the army.
      Free software for calculating bolt circles and similar: Click Here

Comment

I am. 31 years.
        http://millermachinetool.com/ Been there 18 years. Allen

Comment

Originally posted by Evan
          I'm retired. I once worked in all aspects of aircraft metal work for about 4 years after training in the army.
          Evan, this comment seems to contradict something you wrote last year. Were you ever formerly trained as a machinist?

Originally posted by Evan
          I am not a machinist, it's an avocation, not a vocation. I have never been employed as a machinist, only as a airframe mechanic and welder/fitter (plus at least 50 other jobs over the years that have had little or nothing to do with metal work).
          http://bbs.homeshopmachinist.net/sho...4&postcount=69

Just curious...
          "Twenty years from now you will be more disappointed by the things that you didn't do than by the ones you did."

Comment

I also make a meager living as a machinist.
            Among other things.

Comment

Evan, this comment seems to contradict something you wrote last year. Were you ever formerly trained as a machinist?
              No. I have done nearly everything there is to do in metalwork for a living that doesn't involve lathes, milling machines or foundry work. I have never claimed to be a machinist.
              Free software for calculating bolt circles and similar: Click Here

Comment