Shop Wisdom of Jesse Livingston

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Shop Wisdom of Jesse Livingston

In the last few issues of HSM among the hardback books sold by VP I've seen the above book listed. I've gotten HSM and PIM/MW for about 10 or 11 years, and have most of the "Projects" and "Metal Working" books, but I don't recall ever seeing an article by Jesse Livingston. Is he strictly a "Live Steam" contributor? (which I don't subscribe to)
    Lynn (Huntsville, AL)

Most probably,he is on the steam board mainly the flanged wheel variety. He also was heavy into the paper covered tips books they put out awhile back.
    Glen
    Been there, probably broke it, doing that!
    I am not a lawyer, and never played one on TV!
    All the usual and standard disclaimers apply. Do not try this at home, use only as directed, No warranties express or implied, for the intended use or the suggested uses, Wear safety glasses, closed course, professionals only

Comment

Lynnl:

Yes, Jesse's articles ran in Live Steam and Outdoor Railroading magazine. His book contains three model stationary steam engine projects, two locomotive projects (7-1/2" ga), six articles on boiler accessories and improvements and several other ancillary articles.

Hope that helps.

Neil

Comment

It's a very interesting book---I've got a copy.

Comment

What piqued my interest was the 'casting' and 'foundry' info mentioned in the ad.
          Lynn (Huntsville, AL)

Comment

The book contains a 14-page article titled "An Introduction to Metal Casting and Foundry Work." The article describes mold and pattern-making, building a small charcoal-fired furnace capable of melting aluminum and brass but not cast iron, and general casting techniques. It's a good primer for the hobby foundry.

Comment

14 pages with a small charcoal foundry ---- hmmm, sounds good.