Milling machine tooling help!

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Milling machine tooling help!

It looks like I'll be buying a 9x42 knee mill real soon (R8 spindle). Mostly smaller part machining w/ aluminum (2024 grade / 6061). DRO and power feed will happen in the near future. I'm looking at all the different high quality tooling options ---can someone recommend any of the following.

Milling machine vise-----which kurt vise?....or other brand??...Do I need a swivel base??

R8 collets......which brand (best grade)

ER32 ETM collet system....is this worth buying, Other brands??

Do I need a drill chuck??

I'm new at this and need to start piecing together the tooling. I have all the mearuring equipment already.

Thanks in advance.........................Krems

I have an ER32 collet chuck for my lathe and it is really nice to have. The ETM collets are way better than the Chinese ones, BTW. If you're planning on having R8 tooling though, I think the ER system will be a bit superfluous. The main advantage would be that you wouldn't have to undo the drawbar every time you change your tooling.

I'll leave the rest to more informed opinions.

Stuart
    Stuart de Haro

Comment

1. Kurt -675 vise are 688 I prefer the 675. with swivel base some folks dont like a swivel base but i use one.
      2.good lyndex collets R8 .
      3. a 1/2 Jacobs ball bearing drill chuck and a 3/8 Albrecht chuck. Get an R8 shank for the Jacobe and a 5/8 straight shank for the Albrecht .
      4. A 3inch boring head with a set of boring bars.
      5. a rotary table or a Super spacer are both.
      6.Also a 8x10 x6 slotted angle plate
      7 now you are set to do something , O yea a set of parallels foe the vise then some 1,2,3 blocks and own from their. Money is like a bird it will fly away.
      Last edited by lane; 09-07-2007, 10:30 PM.
      Every Mans Work Is A Portrait of Him Self
      http://sites.google.com/site/machinistsite/TWO-BUDDIES