Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

My first project complete (MLA-17 Diesel)

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• My first project complete (MLA-17 Diesel)

I've been a lurker for a while and haven't really had anything to post. Now that I have completed my first project I thought it would be a good time to share.

Introduction: I am a computer programmer with an interest in many things mechanical including model engines.

I've done fabrication including Oxy/acet welding, Mig and Tig. I'm also a fairly skilled auto mechanic. I had never touched a metal lathe or any lathe for that matter up until I bought my 9x20.

I've always wanted to learn machining and finally took the plunge about about 1.5 years ago. I have a cheap harbor freight 9x20 lathe and I learned a few lessons prior to purchasing my milling machine. I bought a Bridgeport J-head mill and powered it with a VFD. I wish I had gotten a better lathe but you don't know what you don't know. I will probably upgrade in the future.

This is a MLA-17 model diesel. I purchased the plans from

Metal Lathe Accessories

link to engine running video: running 1

running 2

Thanks for looking!

Very nice results. It is the machinist, not the machine.
    Steve

Comment

hey that looks great - and it runs to! good job.

Comment

J,

Nice job, thanks for shareing, the mla-17 is on my do list; watch your knuckles adjusting the contra piston!
        Les H.
        The Impossible Takes Just A Little Bit Longer!

Comment

A couple of observations and lessons learned during my build:

Most of these are novice things but since "I are one" these are things that stuck out to me.

1) Pay attention to the revisions included with the plans. I ended up making the intake and contra piston twice.

2) Make sure you leave enough material to chuck/hold the part for machining operations.

3) Never use a drill press to drill a hole unless you know your drill press is acurate and perpendicular to the table! DOH!