Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Any Hazards Machining 41L40 (or Other Lead Alloys)?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Any Hazards Machining 41L40 (or Other Lead Alloys)?

Hi Folks,

I'm new to machining and new to this forum. I've got a mechanical engineering background and extensive woodworking experience and am eager to learn as much as possible about metal work. I've recently bought a Logan 850 lathe and am in the process of learning to use it.

One of the projects that I plan to work on (as soon as skills permit) is a spindle for a woodworking shaper that I have. One of the materials I'm considering for this part is 41L40. It has good machinability and good toughness according to a few catalogs I've looked at.

My question is, are there any special hazards associated with turning lead-bearing alloys? Any special precautions to avoid potential lead poisoning? I assumed that the metal would come off in large enough chips that there would be no issues in inhaling/ingesting them.

Any advice that you all can provide would be helpful. Thanks!

Paul R.

Chip making is probaby not an issue

I doubt that turning and milling 12L is going to put much lead in the atmosphere, at least at home shop speeds. Grinding might be an different matter and you might consider a mask. Maybe there is someone in the screw machine business hanging around and would like to comment, 12L is used a bunch in that industry.
    James Kilroy

Comment

As long as you don't eat it you will be ok.
      Every Mans Work Is A Portrait of Him Self
      http://sites.google.com/site/machinistsite/TWO-BUDDIES
      http://s178.photobucket.com/user/lan...?sort=3&page=1

Comment

The lead content is typically about 0.3%. As has been said, don't eat it. On the other hand, have you considered stressproof (1144)?

Joe

Comment