The next big thing in motors

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• The next big thing in motors

Just read an on-line article in Fast Company magazine about a guy named Johnathan Goodwin, self-taught uber-mechanic from Kansas with the biodiesel engine of the future. Maybe you folks already know about him?

He was on MTVs "Pimp my Ride" program. Converted a 1965 Chevy Impala to biodiesel, increasing the horsepower to over 800, doubling the fuel mileage, and reducing emissions by 80%. Oh, and he smoked a Lamborghini in a drag race with it.

He's got a Hummer H3 with a hybrid electric motor. A jet turbine provides near-instantaneous recharge of the supercapacitor storage cells for the electric motor. 60 miles to the gallon, 2000 pounds-feet of torque (no, that is not a mistake), 600 horsepower and 0-60 in 5 seconds. In a 5000 pound Hummer. Burning chicken fat.

Is this for real? The electric car fraternity say he's the Messiah. Detroit doesn't seem to know what to make of him. What do you think, is this IT?

This site, well known for objectivity, thinks it may be a fraud:
    http://www.dailykos.com/story/2007/10/30/153528/46

Probably W's fault.

Comment

I'll bet it runs great on that pure snake oil.

Comment

Originally posted by dp
        This site, well known for objectivity, thinks it may be a fraud:
        http://www.dailykos.com/story/2007/10/30/153528/46

Probably W's fault.
        Well, it's well known that reality has a liberal bias.

- Bart
        Bart Smaalders
        http://smaalders.net/barts

Comment

The DailyKos article does not by any means prove in any way that this man is a fraud - even the author of the diary entry doesn't claim this. All he does is imply, rather broadly, that the man is a fraud because the author couldn't find any relevant patent applications under his name. Evidence? Maybe. Proof? No.