dry machining aluminum...??

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• dry machining aluminum...??

I've been playing around w/ aluminum lately trying to figure out the best way to drill a precision hole on a milling machine through 2 pieces (.75" ea. or 1.5" inches total thickness) of 2024 aluminum. Is there a proper way to dry machine aluminum. It seems that I get most of the way through and need to pull out to get rid of the chips. Id like to be able to drill to total depth w/ out pulling out of the hole. Is this posible when dry machining...What kind of RPM should I be drilling at...(1/4" - 9/32" hole size).....What about the feed rate. When the RPM was at 2000 the 2 flute bit packed w/ chips. Should I be looking at a different type of bit. I'm a rookie when drilling aluminum..

Thanks for the help in advance. ......................Krems

Dry machining works well if you have chip clearance. If not then you need to use some lube and clear the chips regularly. Keep in mind that when drilling deep holes the chips have nowhere to go if the top of the flutes are buried in the hole.
    Free software for calculating bolt circles and similar: Click Here

Comment

Slow the speed down to about 500- 600 rpm and use lots of coolant or TapMagic ect. Being a newby I would also peck at it........ as in drill a little back out....drill a little back out , no drill can go it's entire depth with out backing out to clear it's flutes.

Comment

Originally posted by krems