OT slightly as is a car modifaction

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• OT slightly as is a car modifaction

This site has some history on the elusive 1973 shell oil company test car that got 376 miles per gallon. With pictures wasn't much on comfort but would have turned heads while you are driving it.
    http://www.race-cardrivers.com/Shell%20Opel.htm
    And to think this was sitting at Talledega's track hall of fame
    Glen
    Been there, probably broke it, doing that!
    I am not a lawyer, and never played one on TV!
    All the usual and standard disclaimers apply. Do not try this at home, use only as directed, No warranties express or implied, for the intended use or the suggested uses, Wear safety glasses, closed course, professionals only

From the page it looks like the writer(s) are some of the ones that still believe that whole "200 MPG carburetor being suppressed by the Oil Industry" types.

One doesn't have to be an automotive engineer to see that's not a "car", it's a "go-kart". Stripped down to minimum weight (plastic windows, no suspension, no firewall/front bulkhead, one fiberglass bucket seat, no transmission, etc.) and run on a hot-cycle engine.

Smokey Yunick experimented with the same thing- and a bit better- only a few years later, and while it worked, to an extent, the materials wouldn't hold up, and wasn't necessarily an economical system.

This Opel is simply an older version of the mileage-test cars; the ones where they streamline them, run tiny motors, and use burn-and-coast techniques to get mileages equivalent to 800MPG or better. (What's the record- something like 2,000MPG?)

Doc.
    Doc's Machine. (Probably not what you expect.)

Comment

Hmm, sounds like the "Pogue" carbie
      Just got my head together
      now my body's falling apart

Comment

I got better than 40 mpg out of a 1980 Chevy painter van. Honest. All ya gotta do is run out of gas at 7000 ft!

SP

Comment

what's all the insulation about