Beginners Mill

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Beginners Mill

I need to mill and drill some parts for a startup business, being a startup budget is limited and very limited space. What I need to do seems simple, although I have never done any milling before, basically rounding off some corners on 6063 aluminum and mild steel, making a 1/2" deep x 1/4" wide channel through 6063, drilling 3/16" holes in mild steel and aluminum for mounting pins and a few other minor cuts. I'm sure things will expand as I learn what I can do with a mill. My first thought is a mini mill like what Harbor Freight offers. I'm having trouble figuring out what is the next step above these mini mills without purchasing some 300lb or more behemoth that I don't have the space for right now. Any suggestions?

On a side note I have found this forum to be extremely helpful to the novice. I've found books and just a lot of general information about milling that I obviously didn't know since I've never done it before. Everyone seems to be open minded and I don't see a lot of big ego's on this forum like I find on some other forums (non machinist forums). It seems like people are very willing to share their knowledge and accept there are more than one way to accomplish the same thing.

I'm currently shopping for a mill as well. Let me give you some advice I've learned from years of buying "things". Buy bigger than you can ever imagine yourself needing. You "think" you'll only be doing this and that, but you'll soon be doing more than you think. Especially with a tool as handy as a mill. Don't get me wrong, I'm not saying you have to go out and buy the biggest machine you can find. But don't buy the smallest one you think will work either. Choose what's right, then bump up a size or 2, you'll be glad you did. And it's cheaper to buy a little larger now than to buy one, realize it's too small in a year, then have to sell it an move up. Trust me.