Threading Chuck Adapter

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Threading Chuck Adapter

I have a Woodhouse and Mitchel lathe that has a 2.5-4 spindle thread. I have a new 4 jaw chuck for it and a rough cast adapter plate. After giving some thought on how to thread this I came up with the following procedure. I haven't done the job yet so let me know if this is a good idea. I thought I should make a stub shaft with the same thread dimension as my spindle. I can test fit this stub shaft on my existing 3 jaw adapter plate. I can then thread my rough cast adapter plate using the stub shaft as a sort of "go-no-go gauge". I have another lathe to do all this in so disturbing this set up won't be an issue.Am I one the right track or is there a better way?

With a total of 2 backplates on my resume I'm no expert, but that's exactly what I did. I did 3 wire my spindle first for a dimension to match on the test stub. Did it in Alu too. I dunno why .....

Well it was easier to cut!

SP

Comment

There is nothing wrong with making the test shaft in aluminum for a one off job like that. I do that all the time for oddball jobs.
      Mark Hockett

Comment

I've done a couple of back plates and some other tooling that mounts directly on the spindle threads. The most important thing, in my humble opinion, is doing all the work on the threads and back surface in a single set up. You don't have to have a precision set up, I've done it with an old, worn out three jaw that has over 0.020" runout. Just do not take it out of the chuck until the work on the mounting area is completely done.