A used mill . . . where do I begin?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• A used mill . . . where do I begin?

I've been thinking about purchasing a used mill for some time, and now with a concrete floor finally in my barn, it's actually feasible to think about. I first became intrigued with the possibilities 20 years ago when the maintenance shop of the engineering lab where I used to work used to let me use their Bridgeport at lunch time on my little projects. Since I mumbled "oh sure" when the forman hollered at me "you know how to use that thing don't you?" as he walked out the door to lunch, I got free reign from then on. Of course I didn't tell them I had no clue. But other than those "experiments", I have no real machining experience. Just the desire to learn, and I think it would be quite useful to my hobby of restoring old farm tractors.

Problem is, I have no idea where to start, or what to look for. Could you guy's get me started with some guidelines and suggestions? I know Bridgeport is top quality. I don't have a problem with 3 phase. I'd like not to spend $1000 for the machine itself, $5-600 would make it more likely to happen. I'm not talking about large blocks but rather brackets and plates and arms, generally less than 12 inches in a given direction.

For example, how about something like this, currently on eBay and 25 miles from me?

http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll...ayphotohosting

I know this is a huge subject, but I'm looking to gather information so anything you tell me will be helpful.

Thanks.

Paul

Looks like a good little mill and that price is good.

As long as everything works and its not sitting outside in the rain it looks like one to grab up .

give it a home.

Comment

For a home or small shop, the Bridgeport Mill is the peg point. Chineese/Taiwan knock offs are compared, as are heavier American machines.