Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• switch lathes???

Hey,
    I am a hobbyist! I have a 6" craftsman with Timken bearings. It came with everything. I have the mill attachment, complete set of gears, collets, steady rest, follower rest, you name it I got it. I have not mastered it yet.
    I got a call today a "friend " has a 10" Atlas for sale for $300.
    Now I am torn!!! Sure it is an increase in turning ability. It probably comes with little or no tooling. It isn't a great change from Craftsman to Atlas. I don't think it is a step to take. What do you advise? My best regards to all and thanks to those that help in advance. Fred

If it was me, I'd buy the 10 and keep the 6.

They'll compliment each other nicely.

Ken.

Comment

Unless the Atlas is trashed it's worth $300. Pics? Model Number?

Comment

There are a couple of points to be pondered.

What do you want a lathe for? There is nothing wrong with the 6" Craftsman if it is the Atlas version, which I would guess it is with that level of accessories. If it serves your needs, what do you gain by replacing it?

Almost none of the accessories from the 6" will work on the 10", and it will cost you hundreds of dollars to duplicate what you have. You can probably recoup most of that expense by selling the 6", but will have to go through the exercise of retooling.

If you feel the need for a larger machine, I would tend to hang on to the 6" and keep an eye open for a good 12" or 13" machine, it will not cost much more than the 10" Atlas in the long run and give you much more capability.
        Jim H.

Comment

I agree with JC, keep what you have and learn all you can and I mean ALL you can. Then later buy a bigger lathe, say a 13 or 14 by 40 or more. There would be no reason to sell the 6" unless room or money is an issue.

Learn all you can with what you have. A good imagination goes a long way to solving problems.

Open your mind, think, dream then do.
          It's only ink and paper

Comment