Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Why does a lathe need to be level?

Hi,

I have been reading and enjoying this board for more than a year now and about 9 months ago I bought an Sieg X3 milling machine and a C6 lathe. I haven't used either of them very much because I was too busy with other things but now I am starting to use both of them a bit. I am completely new to machining, in fact my X3 the first milling machine that I have actually seen in real life. Right now I am building a bench for both the milling machine and the lathe. I have read posts on here and at CNCzone.com about people using very accurate levels and such when setting the machines up but I never understood exactly why being level was so important.

Can anyone tell me why it is important for the machine to be level?

Thanks.
    I'm an abstract poet and I didn't even think I was.

I think that's just the easiest way to make sure the bed isn't twisted.

Comment

The level is used to ensure that all parts of the lathe are in the correct plane relationship to all other parts. It doesn't matter a bit if the lathe isn't oriented "level" to the force of gravity. You could mount it on a wall if it suited you and in fact a lot of machining center lathes are in effect so mounted.
      Free software for calculating bolt circles and similar: Click Here

Comment

Lathe beds are design to be level in order to turn the work true to the bed. A twisted bed will yield a tapered turn. Might not be noticeable on your smaller HSM machines but on larger machines it can kill the project completely. Think of what will happen to the carriage as it rides over a twisted bed. That's why we use master precision levels to get that bed as close to perfect as possible.

Comment

Leveling is just a convenient means to an end -- ensuring that the lathe bed isn't twisted. And it's not the final authority, either; the ultimate test is turning a sample piece of work and seeing if it's parallel.