Southbend headstock which one?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Southbend headstock which one?

I need a Southbend headstock to adapt to another lathe,I am not to familiar with them but what I am looking for is one with Timken bearings and the 2-1/4"thread any ideas as what model to look for?
    I just need one more tool,just one!

WEIRD,
    You're best bet is to find one with timken bearings and 2 1/4 threads that fits, because if it doesn't fit you won't be able to use it.
    Non, je ne regrette rien.

Comment

Its not going on a SB so it don't matter anyway,and besides I am a machinist its my job its what I do

Comment

Hmmm, do you know for a fact that there is such an animal? Except for the very new SB's were there any with timken bearings? I would think the newer ones would have D type spindles or at least something other than a threaded spindle.

How about a Logan or Sheldon headstock?

Comment

http://www.mermac.com/ has a 10H head listed in their lathe parts with 2-1/4 or 1-7/8 spindles (Interchangable).

Comment

Well I don't really care what make it would come off of,it just needs to be roller bearing,a spindle thats threaded with something standard or cam lock(he-he!)and about the right size to shim up/mill down to fit.What I am trying to fix is my old senaca falls machine,everything about it is perfect except for the headstock bearings,I was going to bore them out and sleeve the spindle but after looking at it there is not enough room.

Comment