Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• I feel prehistoric

Sometimes I hate CNC.
    Over the past few years my uncle do some lawn ornaments for sale at spring time. I outline some parts out of wood and aluminum so he can handle them on his fret saw. He had good time doing that.

Now at the landscape strore a clerk can reproduce your pattern or picture with a CNC rig. They can make a thousands parts with more details, mostly perfect in tne same time my uncle can do one with some errors on it.

No dexterity, no experience , no talent. They learn where to push on some buttons and voila!!!
    My uncle still have fun doing his ornaments. With less reconaissance for the experienced work.

Imagine how the folks who planed boards by hand felt about power planers - or what they though about routers, shapers and jointers vs rabbiting planes.

I write software for a living; many year ago in school I hand assembled assembly
    instructions into the series of bytes that would get the machine to do what I wanted.... yesterday I wrote code in a few lines of a high level language that literally would have taken weeks to write and assemble by hand. Didn't bother me a bit :-).

Automation/tool improvements have happened again and again. Focus on the joy of creating things, if that's not too touchy-feely..... and revel in the expansion of your canvas that having the machine do some of the more routine work will bring...

- Bart
    Bart Smaalders
    http://smaalders.net/barts

Comment

You are trying to compare something made by a craftsman to something made by a hack. Your uncles work will always be representative of him, whereas CNC parts do not, they take the character of a machine.

The errors determine the character of a part, knowing that the errors do not change finished product is what comes with experience.

Comment

Thats progress for you - has its advantages.