Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

To Lathe, or not to Lathe? that is the question.

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• To Lathe, or not to Lathe? that is the question.

Hello, newmember here trying to decide whether or not I really need and would use a lathe. Intro - I am a cutler (a blacksmith who specializes in knives) and have been for about 9 years. So, I have some knowledge of working with metals - just from a 'fire, hammer and anvil' point of view rather than a machinist. I have recently started adding guards to my knives which requires cutting a slot in the metal for the guard for the tang of the blade to go through - a difficult task by hand. So, I got a cross-slide vice for my 14" Jet drill press, a mill holder and mill set. Much easier, but, I've read, hard on the drill press spindle bearings. I started looking at mini-mills and mini-lathes with a milling attachment - a rather expensive solution to a small problem. So, the question becomes, what else would a guy who's into knives, guns, fishing, camping (outdoor kinda stuff) use a lathe for? I see a lot of you good folks make small engines for the fun of it. Or, maybe you are into race cars or go-carts and use a lathe to support those hobbies. I guess I'm looking for suggestions for what else I could do to justify spending 600-1,000 dollars on equipment. In a nut shell, what do you do with your lathes??

I hope the question makes sense.
    Regards,
    Jacque (pronounced 'Jack')
    Eagon Leather & Knives

HiJack! (Sorry.. I like that one!)
    Welcome! You sound like a darn handy kind of a guy... so ya.. you could use a lathe or mill. Handy kinda guys end up making a lot of their own tools and fixtures with machines. Far more than you can imagine.
    Sound to me like you have just scratched the tip off the iceburg. Wait til you get a machine or two. You'll go nuts making everything you can dream up.