What has replaced planers?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• What has replaced planers?

I have never worked in a heavy machine shop apart from a couple of weeks 30years ago when I was a 2nd year apprentice, so am really out of touch in regards to heavy machining. There was a planer in the machine shop of the shipyard where I started out and it always had plenty of work.

So what machine/s have replaced the planer and plano mills? Or is it a case of these days instead of heavy castings etc the big jobs are fabricated?

bollie7

Originally posted by bollie7

So what machine/s have replaced the planer and plano mills?
    China, Japan, and India.

Keep eye on ball.
    Hashim Khan

Comment

Picture an open sided planer with a mill head or two or three fitted on and CNC control.
      That and large gantry mills.
      I just need one more tool,just one!

Comment

Like wierd says, CNC mills and grinders.

Most most "modern" machines that still have box ways (as opposed to linear bearings) are CNC milled and then ground.
        "Twenty years from now you will be more disappointed by the things that you didn't do than by the ones you did."

Comment

The last such device I worked on made integrated circuits and required sub-micron accuracy. The Meehanite base was about the same size as that of a typical knee mill. The critical surfaces were formed by a big grinder.

Comment

When I worked at FMC Central Engineering Labs and walked through the shop at the nearby Ordinance Division in San Jose, they used giant CNC mills to mill mating surfaces of hatches on the hulls of Bradleys. These were massive machines, and would certainly replace any planer.