Chinese Nuts

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Chinese Nuts

So, I am building the ultimate stand for my Sq. Column Mill/Drill and I decided to weld nuts on to the bottom of the leg with leveling mounts. I was really happy when the mounts came with big nuts, about an inch across. I thought perfect these things will be easy to weld to the metal feet and then I can screw the feet into them and level the table and the mill that way.

So, I weld the first one on and screw the threaded rod into the newly attached nut. The rod is at a twenty degree angle.

I am new to welding so I am trying to figure out what I did wrong ?
    I won't go through the laundry list of things I came up with. Anyway, after a week of pondering I decide to break/grind the nut off and try again.

I get the nut off clean it up and screw the rod through it to test the thread.
    Yep, the thread was cut so poorly the rod is sitting at a 20 degree angle. Duh ! So much for quality control !

Regards,
    Kevin

I use coupling nuts for levelers. On most legs(flat, channel, angle), they can be fastened with U bolts. I first put the coupling nut in the lathe and turn a notch or two for the U bolt to sit in so it will not slide up/down. I would assume they could also be welded in place if you want.
    Paul A.

Make it fit.
    You can't win and there is a penalty for trying!

Comment