material piling up in front of tool

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• material piling up in front of tool

today i tackled a job turning the shanks of a bunch of 1/2" and smaller drill bits that were all chewed up. using a carbide tool and running at 1200 rpm (the fastest i can go) and taking off 005-010 tho. on some of bits, the material builds up in front of the carbide. im using the slowest feed rate my machine will go as im thinking this will make a better overall finish.

i've noticed this same problem before and have not really come up with a solution or even a reason for it. sometimes carbide tooling sometimes hss. and not always on drill bits but other stuff i turn down.

obviously im not very experienced at this so i am asking for input from you wizzards.

thanks in advance.

davidh

With carbide run it as hard and fast as you can. If it looks like this then you have it right.

Free software for calculating bolt circles and similar: Click Here

Comment

Take a look at the "falure mechanism analysis and corrective actions" document on Kennametals website.

http://kennametal.com/images/pdf/tec...iveActions.pdf

Your description sounds like "built up edge" which is a common problem in machining. Basically, some of the workpiece material welds itself to the tip of the cutting tool. By increasing the surface speed, you're half-way to solving the problem. Increasing the feed-rate and adding some oil should completely solve your problem.

Carbide tooling should be used pretty agressively. I've seen a lot of cases where someone reduces the feed-rate and depth-of-cut in hopes of improving the surface-finish, when they really need to increase them instead. Of course, the extent to which you can increase these parameters is limited by the ridgitiy and power of your lathe, so you really just need to find a sweet-spot that gives good results.

I hope this helps.