PLC help

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• PLC help

I am a novice in the area of PLC's...as well as many other areas. Can someone knowledgeable in the use of these devices give me a few pointers? I am looking for a small inexpensive outfit to control I/O's between a couple of home brewed CNC machines and devices controlled by relay. I am told that allen bradley makes an inexpensive unit with software, but would like some help deciding what to purchase. Educational perpose, not industrial.

Matt

I'm not familiar with AB's smaller controllers, I believe they're discontinuing the micrologix though - in favor of a newer line that will use the rslogix 5000 programmng suite. Nothing inexpensive about that.

For small, limited I/O applications, I've had very good experiences with the Koyo brick plc's. Depending on your requirements, they have models as cheap as 100 bucks (DL5's which I think have something like 8 in and 6 out). The next step up is an expandable brick that goes for something in the low 200's depending on AC or DC, relay outs and stuff like that (DL6's).

Their basic 'demo' software is free and will get you going with fairly simple programs. I think it's limited to 100 lines of logic, which for a small simple app is PLENTY.

Get a count of how many inputs and outputs you need to control - that will determine the size of PLC you need. Always buy something that will take a couple extra beyond your initial estimate cause you alwayse forget one or two. A plc that's expandable, like the AB SLC series (outrageously expensive) or the Koyo DL6's will give you added flexability there cause you can add cards to accept more inputs and outputs - plus they can be a different type than the rest of the controller. So if you have a PLC with DC I/O you can add an AC input card down the line.