Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Digital Calipers

As a low-budget home machinist, I am wondering about two things:

1: Just how useful are digital calipers? I have a 0-1 mike and a depth gage mike, but no non-junky slide calipers of any kind.

2:How useful is a test indicator if you have a dial indicator (a Starrett, no less! it was a hand-me-down) and a homade gizmo that gives you a side lever?

Calipers are pretty nice for general measurements like verifying the size of the stock you're grabbing. They're just way quicker than a micrometer and if I don't need to measure to the tenth then I grab the calipers. I've got a couple of Harbor Freight digitals, a Mitutoyo dial caliper, and a 12" vernier caliper in my arsenal. The HF digitals are OK, although one of them really doesn't repeat well at all. I'm constantly zeroing it and after a few measurements it's off by .0005 one way or the other and gets worse from then on. The other one is fine though.

Edit: I can't live without my test indicators because I do almost all of my work with a four jaw chuck. Also indispensable for tramming you mill head. I have a .0005 and a .0001, which I use far less frequently.
    Last edited by hornluv; 08-19-2008, 09:02 PM.
    Stuart de Haro

Comment

Yes! Calipers are very very handy. However, don't buy cheap ones! I personally favor dial calipers for reasons I've mentioned in numerous other posts about digital vs analog. Digital are nice too, but I'm just "old school". Anyway, mine are a fully jeweled mitutoyo 6" calipers and they get used all the time. They are hard to find these days, most of them are not fully jeweled and they feel different. I've gotten spoiled with my pair and using non-jeweled feel rough and inaccurate. Its just a feeling - there is nothing really wrong with them.