X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Any suggestions on my first lathe???

Hello all,

I am new to the HSM forums.

I am in the market for a lathe. I have a small amount of experience and will probably use the lathe as a lathe, but also as a milling machine until I can get enough money approved through congress (wife) to get a stand alone milling machine. I would like to start working on some of the projects which come up in the magazine. I love the looks and function of some of the small steam engines.

I have my eyes on the following:
    Grizzly 11 x 26
    Harbor Freight 12 x 36

The money is tight at no more than $1,500, but for a starter lathe, I probably shouldn't spend more than that anyway.

I would love to get a used South Bend like my dad use to have, but I have a tough time locating any...

Any help, pics, stories of success, stories of failure would be a big help.

Thanks all.....

Where are you located? The folks here will be able to help you much more if we've got a rough idea of where you are. Alot of guys here know of used machines and machinery dealers but it all depends upon where you are.

I'm not a fan of the HF one at all. I looked at it in a show room and the fit and finish were so bad I decided I would never buy a large piece of machinery from them. Not sure about the grizzly ones. Personally, I think the best route is to buy a cheap beater lathe that you can learn on and then buy an old used lathe that needs a little love. You need something cheap to get a feel for everything and build some skills.

For instance, I bought a smithy machine and learned alot. My expierences with that machine, although often frusterating because it was so small, built up my confidence so I could buy a used machine and repair it. Once you figure out what your doing (somewhat anyway) then you know what to look for in a used lathe - i.e. whats easily fixable and whats not, etc.

Comment