Who does what for a living

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Who does what for a living

Reading an earlier post some one mention the experts on this board.
    So here goes .What is your expertise are what do you make a living doing.
    Me I am a Machinist and Half a$$ tool maker Plus machinery mechanic.and some times a draftsman. Who is going to be next.
    Every Mans Work Is A Portrait of Him Self
    http://sites.google.com/site/machinistsite/TWO-BUDDIES
    http://s178.photobucket.com/user/lan...?sort=3&page=1

I'm a has been at about everything. Wondering what I'll be a has been from next.

Clutch

Comment

Me ?
      All I seem to do these days are bloody electric motors.

This was one day last week when I was trying to get ready for the show.

The 10 small rotors [ 1 hp ]are brand new and need to be taken down a frame size, so 19mm goes down to 14mm and anew keyway milled in.
      The 5 larger ones [ 3 hp ] are the same 28mm down to 24mm.
      The 1 HP covers need the flange altering and the mounting holes slotting.

The largish rotor behind the blue box needs a journal doing and the long shaft rotor is another Bridgeport with the keyway wrecked.

The complete motor isn't a job, it's a spare off the Myford.

Today I have done another 25 small rotors and 7 large ones pluse a few other jobs.

Tomorrow I have a 15 Hp rotor to do a 50mm journal on and another Bridgeport with keyway messed up.

Need to get a spare hour to fit the new DRO on the TOS lathe I bought earlier at the show if I don't get another shed load of motors............................

Sir John , Earl of Bligeport & Sudspumpwater. MBE [ Motor Bike Engineer ] Nottingham England.

Comment

My last full-time job was an engineering position with Lockheed at a base where sub-launched missiles were assembled and loaded on the boats. After I quit that in 1992 (at age 46), I've been pretty much a bum.