X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• grizzly anyone

Hey all,
    First post here.
    Not gonna ask the same question,"How do you like your Grizzly Lathe?" but I would like to put my hands on one.
    Quick overview: I am a USNAVY trained machinist. Obviously the equipment we had was top notch,Leblond, Cincinatti, Wells Index,Clausing etc. Then I worked in another shop for about 8 years and we also had good equipment.
    Since I changed careers a few years back i really find myself missing machine work. I am in the market for a small lathe 12x36 neighborhood. So Ive never ran or even been around one of the chinese lathes. Would like to see one in person before i commit to an order. Anyone in the central VIRGINIA area have a grizzly lathe i could drop by and see?

I do not have a griz nor am I any where near you, but would share some things

Note One: The differrent lathes are often completely identical.
    Note Two: Grizzly has better fit and finish than some other importers, even for identical machines, and has better manuals.
    Note Three: Accuracy is often good. De burring and torquing are sometimes neglected. Dissassembly may be helpful.

Comment

Hi,first let me say welcome!

I don't have a Grizzly lathe,but I do have a few pieces of their woodworking equipment of which I am happy.

They do carry a good supply of parts for their machines which is a plus.
      I just need one more tool,just one!

Comment

I just have to put in a plug for buying used. You've run these machines and know what a good machine is, so why not see about finding a 12"-16" used lathe. You can go and inspect and, if your lucky, probably buy twice the quality that you could buy at grizzly for the same price.

Comment

It may have changed but grizzly used to supply customer referrals to owners of their equipment on request. I quick call to them would see if this service is still offered.

Comment

Originally posted by fullsizejohn