Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

New member introduction & question about benchtop model.

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• New member introduction & question about benchtop model.

Hello folks,

I became interested in machining back when I was racing go-karts and started taking classes in the Machine Tool Technologoy program at local community college about three years ago. About 5 months ago I got a job as a CNC operator and set-up man at a good machine shop here in town. I turned my back on a 20 year carreer as a P&C insurance agent. I know work about 30% more hours and earn 50% less but don't ever remember enjoying my work more.

So, anyway, I'm still pretty new at this machining trade but I'm working hard to learn as fast as I can.

I've thought about all the money I've spent on classes at community college and by comparison, the cost of having my own mill right in the garage seems like a very economical way for me to improve my machining skills and know-how. So, I think I'm going to lay out the cash for my own benchtop mill. I started out planning to go with one of the mini-mills but for a few hundred dollars more a benchtop model seems like alot more machine for the money. Woudn't you agree?

I'm planning on purchasing this model:

http://www.wttool.com/product-exec/p...per_WT_Import_

I only have 110V and the price point is near the top of my tolerance window. Please let me know if you think I would be making a mistake.

I'm looking forward to getting to know some of you. This looks like a great place to gain machining knowledge.

More later..

Welllll ..... youre gonna get a rash of naysayers on the famous/infamous 'round column' mill-drill, it doesnt have a very big following....