Not the master machinist I thought I was

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Not the master machinist I thought I was

I recently got sick of the compressor on my prehistoric Cat 922B loader putting copious amounts of engine oil into the air tank, so I decided to do something about it.. I pulled the compressor off and as expected the bores were heavily scored and the pistons were also scored..One a lot worse then the other... I initially thought oversize pistons would be the go, but while the service manual mentions them the parts manual makes no mention of them..

A phone call to the aftermarket/wreckers parts supplier and yes they had a "good" compressor in stock and for only $850..OK, maybe not...

So why not bore it out and make up two new pistons and rings to suit, after all I am a master machinist in my own mind....

I have done a fair bit of machining but usually that is usually non accurate work or plain but accurate simple work..A shaft here and there, a stub axle or four, keyways, threads, just basic stuff..

I bored and honed the bores first..A simple job and quite easy to do...Next was the pistons..First up was measure the old piston and get some drawings..I use the free solidedge 2D program for my drawings..I find it quick and easy to use and quite powerful...

I already had the CI rod in stock so chucked it up in the four jaw (because my 3 jaw does not have a 50mm bore), turned it to near size then sneaked down to the required size, the first one I got spot on....Next was the grooves for the rings..A shaped HSS tool did the trick but since I have no DRO on the lathe I relied on the top slide to get the grooves in the correct spot, tricky to keep remembering how many turns you have done to get it to the correct position... The oil ring groove has a taper below it and as I have no way of measuring the taper I guessed it and it seemed OK...