Mighty yet tiny IC engine !

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Mighty yet tiny IC engine !

Here is another one that claims big things! http://angellabsllc.com/index.html Its corrected
    Last edited by PTSideshow; 03-14-2009, 10:23 PM.
    Glen
    Been there, probably broke it, doing that!
    I am not a lawyer, and never played one on TV!
    All the usual and standard disclaimers apply. Do not try this at home, use only as directed, No warranties express or implied, for the intended use or the suggested uses, Wear safety glasses, closed course, professionals only

The link you posted just goes to the "post a new thread" part of this bulletin board.

Comment

Neat little engine
      NRA member

Gun control is using both hands

Comment

He is claiming up to 40 horsepower per pound. That is totally ridiculous. If the engine is 30% efficient, and that is being very generous, then each pound of engine when running at full power must somehow shed at least 20 kilowatts of waste heat on a continuous basis. That's impossible for anything short of a rocket engine that runs on a liquid fuel/oxidizer mixture and is cryogenically cooled.

The space shuttle main engines are the most powerful engines per pound ever built at around 100 hp per pound. However, they use pure liquid oxygen while the engine presented here must burn atmospheric air. If the shuttle burned liquid air the power output would drop by at least a factor of 5 to perhaps 20 hp per pound or even lower.

The web site is extremely slim on real facts about the engine. From the one picture I could find it appears to be a free piston design. If it generates even a fraction of the power output claimed for it then it will be so loud that it will be dangerous to approach within a hundred feet of it when running at power. That is the singular most important drawback of nearly all free piston engine designs that have a high power density. They make pure jet engines sound nearly silent.