Hello from Aberdeenshire

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Hello from Aberdeenshire

Hi, I've been a lurker on a couple of other forums for a wee while and recently was about to post a question on practicalmachinist.com looking for advice.

Luckily, I came across one of their threads that didn't recommend asking for advice regarding what they referred to as 'toy machines' and that same thread directed me to this HSM website.

I posed a question on a UK site for which is really for CNC users (another of the forums I've been lurking on) - link to the thread here

http://www.mycncuk.com/forums/showth...=3211#post3211

Their responses led me to think that I may be better off with a second-hand Bridgeport, but the issue of weight is a concern.

So here I am, a complete newbie, in fact, probably an incomplete newbie because I've yet to get started with the purchase of any 'real' machinery. No doubt I'll be asking lots of questions prior to my purchases, as well as researching the information and advice given to the questions of others.

Just thought I'd say hello.

Welcome aboard LindenH! The more the merrier, as they say.

You can get a lot of VERY knowledgeable advice here (not necessarily from me ), and it's always cheerfully given, for the most part. ...every now and then some ol' grouch will snarl and growl, but we all try to ignore that and just consider the source.

Comment

Any chance you could make your parts from 303 stainless instead of 304? 304 can be pretty bad to deal with, and a larger milling machine won't improve its qualities any. 303 is nicer to machine.
      ----------
      Try to make a living, not a killing. -- Utah Phillips
      Don't believe everything you know. -- Bumper sticker
      Everybody is ignorant, only on different subjects. -- Will Rogers
      There are lots of people who mistake their imagination for their memory. - Josh Billings