Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Questions on a South Bend Tool Room Lathe (13") I may purchase

Hi All!
    I'm new to machining, and I'm looking to get a used lathe. I want something solid that will last me a long time.

I found a 1953 South Bend 13" lathe for almost $4k. I'm wondering if that is worth it; it looks like it is good condition (from the pictures I've seen). He has some older tooling and accessories which also might be nice to get.

Any advice on what it is worth, and what I should look for when I check it out? The added plus is the guy said he would deliver it to within 100 miles (I'm about 50 miles away from it).

--corbin

It sounds expensive to me.
    I have a 13" South Bend which might be a "tool room" since it is a short bed. I paid about $800 for it with 3 jaw & 4 jaw chucks and some tooling. It is a great lathe for my purposes, but that seems like a lot of $ unless you are in some remote place where machines are scarce.
    VitŮŽria, Brazil

Comment

Thanks for the info David, that's quite helpful. If anyone else has some advice on what it is worth, please let me know.
      corbin

Comment

Seems a bit much to me also ---

Thats getting into the range of some of the better new Chinese lathes, with the plus of "plug & play"

Its just such a gamble in getting used equipment, and when you pay top dollar and get a stinker -- bummer
        If everything seems to be going well, you have obviously overlooked something........

Comment

Hello,

Over a year ago, I bought a South Bend 13x40 (without tooling) for about $800 delivered. The thing came from a school and was rode hard and put away wet. Practically every small thing that could be busted was busted. Some parts needed to be re-fit as they had been "adjusted" with a hammer and I had to make some new parts for it on my other lathe.